Source: http://blog.compete.com/2011/05/24/compete-releases-ranking-of-top-50-websites-for-april-2011/

NYTimes.com Declined in First Full Month With Paywall; Daily Deal Sites Continue to Thrive

BOSTON, MA–(Marketwire) - Compete, a Kantar Media company, today released its ranking of the top 50 websites for April 2011. Notable changes during the month included NYTimes.com, which saw unique visitors (UVs) decline during its first full month behind a paywall. Elsewhere on the list, daily deal sites thrived and video site Ustream.tv climbed more than 200 spots.

NYTimes.com Drops
NYTimes.com dropped 20.4 percent in April — a 24.9 percent decline from one year earlier; traffic decreased across nearly all of NYTimes.com’s subdomains. But NYTimes.com sports blogs were interesting exceptions in April: bats.blogs.nytimes.com (baseball), offthedribble.blogs.nytimes.com (basketball) and fifthdown.blogs.nytimes.com (football) increased traffic during the month, with month-over-month growth of 57.8 percent, 142.4 percent and 44.5 percent respectively. Readers, it seems, do not part as easily with their sports content.

Daily Deal Duel
As the race intensifies in the daily deals space, Groupon still leads the way with nearly 24 million UVs, increasing 5.4 percent M-O-M and 655.8 percent Y-O-Y. While LivingSocial.com only boasts half as many UVs at this point (roughly 11.5 million), its rate of growth for the month, 32.7 percent, was six-times greater than Groupon’s, and its Y-O-Y growth rate stands at 418.4 percent. It is catching up quickly.

One to Watch: Ustream.tv
In April, traffic to video site Ustream.tv grew 46.6 percent for the month (92.3 percent for the year). This helped the site shoot up more than 200 spots in Compete’s rankings, likely a result of the growing popularity of video sharing sites.

Top Ten Order Unchanged
The order of top ten sites remained unchanged in April and no site had a monthly traffic increase. While YouTube.com, ranked #4, stayed steady with no change, the other nine sites experienced drops in UVs during April.

Information regarding top 250 websites is drawn from the Compete PRO Enterprise edition on Compete.com. For more information on the enterprise offering, please contact Lauren Streisfeld at lstreisfeld@compete.com.

Rank Site Unique Visitors Monthly Change Yearly Change
1 google.com 150,132,536 -0.29% -0.34%
2 facebook.com 137,917,539 -2.00% 13.33%
3 yahoo.com 137,281,886 -0.11% 2.02%
4 youtube.com 123,404,304 0.00% 22.42%
5 bing.com 86,836,886 -3.51% 48.43%
6 wikipedia.org 81,157,591 -2.31% 6.01%
7 amazon.com 74,978,780 -1.29% 12.71%
8 msn.com 73,799,209 -2.74% 8.95%
9 live.com 72,369,485 -4.69% 4.21%
10 ebay.com 67,372,294 -1.65% -10.04%
11 blogspot.com 65,940,748 -5.50% 12.10%
12 microsoft.com 62,162,835 -0.94% 9.19%
13 craigslist.org 57,500,250 -1.86% -5.52%
14 ask.com 54,508,628 -3.14% -10.72%
15 go.com 49,504,372 -8.20% 17.32%
16 about.com 47,709,562 -4.30% 3.88%
17 aol.com 46,906,652 -6.07% 2.32%
18 walmart.com 46,349,561 5.44% 14.15%
19 ehow.com 45,960,705 -7.74% 60.20%
20 answers.com 42,276,025 -10.87% 38.03%
21 mapquest.com 36,700,156 -0.60% -9.61%
22 target.com 36,178,431 1.79% 24.64%
23 weather.com 33,728,429 10.51% 11.58%
24 wordpress.com 33,459,473 -2.92% 1.92%
25 netflix.com 33,129,869 -1.74% 52.15%
26 myspace.com 32,876,686 -16.55% -53.60%
27 paypal.com 31,870,573 2.97% 11.06%
28 apple.com 31,103,237 -11.00% 10.79%
29 adobe.com 31,079,363 -14.31% 3.17%
30 twitter.com 27,504,233 -11.33% -0.75%
31 chase.com 26,432,079 1.00% 5.86%
32 att.com 25,744,344 -9.11% 12.12%
33 bankofamerica.com 25,671,467 0.79% 4.82%
34 imdb.com 23,787,667 -9.47% -2.86%
35 groupon.com 23,768,883 5.40% 655.82%
36 cnn.com 23,341,250 -15.81% -13.93%
37 flickr.com 21,514,439 -1.85% -13.68%
38 photobucket.com 20,523,415 -4.93% -23.97%
39 comcast.net 20,077,436 11.53% 57.38%
40 bestbuy.com 19,690,984 -6.36% -1.66%
41 yellowpages.com 19,683,713 5.93% 40.39%
42 irs.gov 19,682,366 -2.12% -4.02%
43 jcpenney.com 19,452,462 5.67% 33.94%
44 sears.com 19,348,832 11.41% 25.28%
45 homedepot.com 19,244,361 12.20% 3.58%
46 verizonwireless.com 18,440,068 -7.54% 11.74%
47 cnet.com 18,405,154 -5.23% -13.40%
48 comcast.com 18,362,992 -5.35% 60.51%
49 wellsfargo.com 17,984,172 4.04% 26.90%
50 lowes.com 17,949,686 13.16% 19.84%

About Compete
Compete, a Kantar Media company, helps the world’s top brands improve their marketing based on the online behavior of millions of consumers. Leading advertisers, agencies and publishers rely on Compete’s products and services to create engaging online experiences and highly profitable advertising campaigns. Compete’s online panel — the largest in the industry — makes the web as ingrained in marketing as it is in people’s lives. Compete is located in Boston, MA, with offices throughout the U.S. For more information, please visit http://www.compete.com/.

About Kantar Media
Established in more than 50 countries, Kantar Media helps clients master the world’s multimedia momentum through analysis of print, radio, TV, internet, cinema, mobile, social media, and outdoor worldwide. Kantar Media offers a full range of media insights and audience measurement services through its global business sectors — Intelligence, Audiences, TGI and Custom. Kantar Media companies also include Compete, Cymfony and SRDS. Drawing upon the deepest expertise in the industry, Kantar Media tracks more than 3 million brands and delivers insight to more than 22,000 customers worldwide. www.KantarMediaNA.com/.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Source: http://www.engadget.com/2011/04/12/adobe-finds-another-critical-flaw-in-flash-steve-jobs-smiles/

Flash is FlawedHey, guess what? Adobe has found yet another serious security flaw in Flash. We can already hear the iOS fanboys warming up their commenting fingers. The vulnerability affects all platforms, including Android, though only attacks on Windows have been seen in the wild so far. Just like last month’s exploit, this one is spreading via malicious .swf files embedded in Office documents, only this time it’s Word instead of Excel being targeted (a hacker’s gotta keep it fresh, after all). Once again Reader and Acrobat are also vulnerable, but attacks can be thwarted using Reader’s Protected Mode. When exactly Adobe plans on plugging this hole is anyone’s guess, so when a deposed Nigerian prince tells you about the fabulous sum of money he’d like you to transfer, you’ll have yet another reason not to open the Office attachments in his email.

Adobe finds another ‘critical’ flaw in Flash, Steve Jobs smiles smugly originally appeared on Engadget on Tue, 12 Apr 2011 16:41:00 EDT. Please see our terms for use of feeds.

Permalink The Inquirer  |  sourceAdobe  | Email this | Comments

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

http://www.webkitchen.be/2009/02/18/adobe-on-twitter/

Adobe on Twitter
By Serge Jespers 18 February 2009 at 11:02 am
I thought it was a good idea to compile a list of Adobeans on Twitter. It was quite surprising to see how big this list turned out and I’m pretty sure there must be even more of us on Twitter. If you know of someone not on the list, feel free to add them in the comments!

Flash Platform evangelism

Duane Nickull: http://twitter.com/duanechaos
Tom Krcha: http://twitter.com/tomkrcha
Mihai Corlan: http://twitter.com/mcorlan
Greg Wilson: http://twitter.com/gregorywilson
Enrique Duvos: http://twitter.com/eduvos
Daniel Dura: http://twitter.com/ddura
Kevin Hoyt: http://twitter.com/parkerkrhoyt
Andrew Shorten: http://twitter.com/ashorten
Lee Brimelow: http://twitter.com/leebrimelow
James Ward: http://twitter.com/jlward4th
Ryan Stewart: http://twitter.com/ryanstewart
Serge Jespers: http://twitter.com/sjespers
Raghu: http://twitter.com/raghunathrao
Harish: http://twitter.com/hsivaram
Anirudh: http://twitter.com/anirudhs
Sujit: http://twitter.com/sujitg
Mihai “Miti” Pricope http://twitter.com/mpricope
Cornel Creanga http://twitter.com/cornelcreanga
Terry Ryan: http://twitter.com/tpryan
Flash Platform

Michele Turner: http://twitter.com/mturner
Robin Charney: http://twitter.com/Rcharney
Mike Chambers: http://twitter.com/mesh
AIR

Ethan Malasky: http://twitter.com/emalasky
Rob Christensen: http://twitter.com/robchristensen
Christian Cantrell: http://twitter.com/cantrell
Flex

Matt Chotin: http://twitter.com/mchotin
Cocomo

Nigel Pegg: http://twitter.com/nigelpegg
Fang Chang: http://twitter.com/fkchang
Varun Parmar: http://twitter.com/vparmar230
Pixelbender

Kevin Goldsmith: http://twitter.com/KevinGoldsmith
Samantha Bailey: http://twitter.com/upperleftcorner
Adobe Core Tech

Jim Hong: http://twitter.com/jimhong
John Metzger: http://twitter.com/metz123
Kevin Stewart: http://twitter.com/kstewart
Mike Houser: http://twitter.com/tharkad
ColdFusion

Adam Lehman: http://twitter.com/adrocknaphobia
Products

AIR: http://twitter.com/air
Pixelbender: http://twitter.com/pixelbender
Flash Platform: http://twitter.com/Flash_Platform
ColdFusion: http://twitter.com/coldfusion
Buzzword: http://twitter.com/Buzzword
Adobe Reader: http://twitter.com/Adobe_Reader
Dreamweaver: http://twitter.com/dreamweaver
Spry: http://twitter.com/AdobeSpry
Developer relations

Ed Sullivan: http://twitter.com/esulliva
Rachel Luxemburg: http://twitter.com/rlux
Ted Patrick: http://www.twitter.com/AdobeTed
John Dowdell: http://www.twitter.com/jdowdell
Stacy Sison: http://www.twitter.com/ssison
Creative Suite evangelists

Paul Burnett: http://twitter.com/pburnett
Karl Soule: http://twitter.com/KarlSoule
Greg Rewis: http://twitter.com/garazi
Jason Levine: http://twitter.com/Beatlejase
Rufus Deuchler: http://twitter.com/rufusd
Flash Catalyst

NJ: http://twitter.com/rictus
Rob Adams: http://twitter.com/robadams
Cory West: http://twitter.com/corywest
Adobe After Effects

Dan Wilk: http://twitter.com/DanielWilk
Michael Natkin: http://twitter.com/michaelnatkin
Chris Prosser: http://twitter.com/cprosser
Open source

Dave McAllister: http://twitter.com/dwmcallister
Creative Suite

Doug Winnie: http://twitter.com/sfdesigner
Scott Fegette: http://twitter.com/sfegette
Marc Kubishta: http://twitter.com/kubischta
Connect

Mark Blair: http://www.twitter.com/markblair
Randah McKinnie: http://www.twitter.com/randah
Guillaume Privat: http://www.twitter.com/gprivat
Brant Strand: http://www.twitter.com/BStrand
Adobe Nordics

Anna Bouveng: http://twitter.com/annabou
Mattias Jonsson: http://twitter.com/mjonsson
Andreas Hollstrom: http://twitter.com/hollstrom
Adobe UK

Emma Wilkinson: http://twitter.com/emmawilkinson
Adobe Netherlands/Belgium

Klaasjan Tukker: http://twitter.com/ktukker
Bert Hagendoorn: http://twitter.com/berthagendoorn
Adobe Usergroup NL: http://twitter.com/adobeusergroup
Adobe Romania

Bogdan Ripa http://twitter.com/bogdanripa
Alexandru Costin http://twitter.com/acostin
Irina Huzum http://twitter.com/irinah
Adrian Spinei http://twitter.com/aspinei
Cosmin Lehene http://twitter.com/clehene
Andrei Dragomir http://twitter.com/adragomir
Sorin Sbarnea http://twitter.com/sbarnea
Mihaela Barbu http://twitter.com/mihabarbu
Adrian Tanase http://twitter.com/atanase
Horia Galatanu http://twitter.com/horiag
Ovidiu Eftimie http://twitter.com/eovidiu
Gelu Blanariu http://twitter.com/gelu11
Gabriel Dobritescu http://twitter.com/GabiD
Catalin Anastasoaie http://twitter.com/acatalin
Dragos Georgita http://twitter.com/drageo2000
Remus Stratulat http://twitter.com/rstratulat
Cristian Ivascu http://twitter.com/ivascucristian
Adobe Germany

Sven Doelle: http://twitter.com/sdoelle

, , ,